The Deans Story

The Deans Of Soul are an original Soul band based in Melbourne, Australia.
Winners of The Age Music Victoria Award for Best Indigenous Act 2014.
Nominated for “Band of the Year” in the prestigious Deadly Awards in 2007.

The Deans Of Soul combine soul, funk and old school R & B influences to create a modern Melbourne soul sound, with velvet smooth vocals, sweet harmonies, soaring heartbreak guitar, deep Motown bass grooves and hip-shaking rhythms.

They released a new single "A Common Theme" in April 2022, with more on the way through the year. And their last album "Equal" was released on The Bad Apples Distribution in October 2019 and is still available online.


The Deans Of Soul are like a United Nations of Indigenous and Non Indigenous Australians unified in the one Soul groove:

Linc Yow Yeh - Singer/Song-writer/Guitarist.  Master of the Stratocaster, Linc is a Goreng Goreng man raised in Jagera Country, Brisbane but whose traditional ancestry is Bundaberg and Darumbal Country, Rockhampton. 

Bradley Boon - Drums. Brad is a Kurnai man from Gippsland.  He lays down the heartbeat with a groovy fatback feel.

Nick Larkins - Bass. Nick is a musical nomad from Tasmania who has played with ARIA award winning acts Wild Pumpkins At Midnight, Dan Rumour (The Cruel Sea) and others.
The Deans also feature the heartbreaking vocals of soul divas Sophie Dickson & Sophie Agostinello, the melodic keys of Phoebe Elsworth, and horn players Emelia Wilmot and Basil Byrne.